Fifteen institutions recognised for gender equity and diversity efforts

December 05, 2018

Fifteen Australian institutions have been recognised for their efforts to improve gender equity and diversity, receiving the inaugural Athena SWAN Bronze Awards from Science in Australia Gender Equity (SAGE).

The awardees are:

  • Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO)
  • Baker Heart and Diabetes Institute
  • Charles Sturt University
  • Curtin University
  • Edith Cowan University
  • Griffith University
  • Monash University
  • Swinburne University of Technology
  • Queensland University of Technology
  • University of New South Wales
  • University of Newcastle
  • University of Technology Sydney
  • University of Wollongong
  • Walter and Eliza Hall Institute

Members of the first SAGE cohort to achieve accreditation were presented with their award at a gala dinner at Parliament House in Canberra.

The South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute, Southern Cross University, University of Canberra, University of Melbourne and University of Western Australia were also recognised for their progress to date towards Bronze Award accreditation and their continued commitment to SAGE.

Cohort One members are the first group of the 45 institutions from the higher education and research (HER) sector to complete the Athena SWAN Bronze process. The remaining institutions are due to complete their accreditation in 2019.

SAGE—a partnership between the Australian Academy of Science and the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering—was set up to pilot the UK’s Athena SWAN Charter and accreditation framework in Australia.

Australia is the third jurisdiction after the United Kingdom and Ireland to implement the Athena SWAN Charter program. Australia has taken a leadership role by piloting the Athena SWAN Charter program, with countries such as Canada and the United States now following Australia’s example.

More about SAGE

The celebratory Athena SWAN Bronze Awards event at Parliament House in Canberra was hosted by journalist Del Irani.

© 2024 Australian Academy of Science