Recipients of EMCR mobility grants for France and Europe announced

June 18, 2019

The Academy has announced the recipients of the France and Europe early- and mid-career (EMCR) mobility grants for 2019, who have been awarded a share of the total $71,785 in funding. These grants are intended to strengthen international research networks, providing support of up to $5000 for Australian researchers to travel to France and Europe and work with leading researchers at major science and technology organisations for a period of between 14 and 28 days. 

The Rod Rickards Fellowship, which supports researchers to travel to Europe for collaborative research in chemistry or biology, has been awarded to 11 Australian early- and mid-career researchers. The recipients are:

  • Dr Jessica Allen, University of Newcastle
  • Dr Ryan Burrows, Griffith University
  • Dr Xiaoying Cui, University of Queensland
  • Dr Tim Gould, Griffith University
  • Dr Meiling Han, Monash University
  • Dr Clarissa House, Western Sydney University
  • Dr Jennifer Macleod, Queensland University of Technology
  • Associate Professor Alister Page, University of Newcastle
  • Dr Onisha Patel, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research
  • Dr Mohammad Pourkheirandish, University of Melbourne
  • Dr Christian Rinke, Australian Centre for Ecogenomics.

Additionally, four Bede Morris Memorial Fund grants have been awarded to support researchers to travel to France for research in any field of natural sciences. The 2019 recipients of the Bede Morris grants are:

  • Professor Igor Aharonovich, UTS
  • Dr Kirill Glavatskiy, University of Sydney
  • Dr Margaux Le Vaillant, CSIRO
  • Dr Peta Neale, Griffith University.

These mobility grants are possible due to the generous support of the Rod Rickards Fellowships and the Bede Morris Memorial Fund, which continue the legacy of two outstanding scientists, Professor Bede Morris FAA (1927–1988) and Professor Rod Rickards FAA (1934–2007).

More information on the France and Europe EMCR Mobility Grants

© 2024 Australian Academy of Science