EMCR Pathways Issue 5

Issue 1, October 2014

The Australian Early- and Mid-Career Researcher Forum of the Australian Academy of Science serves as the voice of the country's future scientific and research leaders. We currently reach over 3,300 individuals and are seeking to broaden and increase our engagement with Australian EMCRs to better represent their views, needs and vision to decision-makers within the government, Members of Parliament and key funding agencies.


Editor's welcome

From Hobart to Lindau, there is plenty to read in the October issue of EMCR Pathways.

Behind closed doors: Observing the ARC Selection Meeting

Michael Crichton reports on his observations of the ARC Discovery Project grants selection process, which he describes as 'highly transparent, open and fair'.

The Lindau experience: The 65th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting

Tristan Clemons recounts his experience as one of 13 Australian EMCR delegates to attend the Lindau meeting in Germany. 

Theo Murphy High Flyers Think Tank: The Stem Cell Revolution

This year's think tank was one of the top experiences of Heather Main's career so far. Find out why.

Indonesian–American Kavli Frontiers of Science symposium

For the first time, Australian EMCRs joined American and Indonesian scientists in Indonesia for the interdisciplinary Kavli symposium. Judy Hart explains why it gave her renewed enthusiasm for her work.

Results from the Australian Postdoctoral Survey

Maggie Hardy reports on the results of the postdoctoral survey, including working conditions, training and professional development, and funding sources. 

Theo Murphy Australian Frontiers of Science symposium

The 2015 Frontiers of Science symposium, ‘Materials for the 21st century: from design to application’, will be held in Melbourne from 9 to 11 December. Sixty-three EMCRs are attending.

Progress is made by trial and failure; the failures are generally a hundred times more numerous than the successes; yet they are usually left unchronicled.
William Ramsay, chemist, 1852–1916.

© 2024 Australian Academy of Science