Matthew Flinders Medal and Lecture


​Nominations are by Academy Fellows only.

Nominations will open in early 2020 for the 2021 award.


Matthew Flinders Medal

The Matthew Flinders Medal and Lecture recognises scientific research of the highest standing in the physical sciences, and honours the contributions of Australia's early scientific researchers. Nominations for this award are invited from Academy Fellows only and nominated candidate should normally be resident in Australia


Nominations should outline reasons for the nomination. It should clearly state both the candidate’s achievements (discoveries and their applications) and the implications and impact of their work. Candidates may be non Fellows.

A short curriculum vitae of approximately 6 pages and a list of the candidate's 20 most important publications should also be attached to the nomination. The curriculum vitae should contain evidence of international standing, awards and grants, and public speaking.

The Australian Academy of Science encourages nominations of female candidates and of candidates from a broad geographical distribution.

An electronic copy sent by email is preferred. Receipt of the nomination will be acknowledged.

Send to:
Australian Academy of Science
GPO Box 783, Canberra ACT 2601

If you need more information, please contact the Awards Officer, at or phone +61 (0)2 6201 9407.

NB: To be eligible for nomination an appropriate period of time should elapse following the receipt of any other Academy award.


© 2019 Australian Academy of Science