Gottschalk Medal


Nominations will open in early 2018.


The Gottschalk medal recognises the contributions to science by the late Professor A Gottschalk, FAA.

Its purpose is to recognise outstanding research in the medical sciences by researchers up to 10 years post-PhD in the calendar year of nomination, except in the case of significant interruptions to a research career. The awardee may not be a Fellow of the Academy. The award is made annually and is restricted to candidates who are normally resident in Australia and for research conducted mainly in Australia.

The Australian Academy of Science encourages nominations of female candidates and of candidates from a broad geographical distribution.

NB: If a proposed candidate is already the recipient of an Academy early- or mid-career honorific award, they will not be eligible for nomination for another early- or mid-career honorific award.

The medal is made by the Royal Australian Mint, Canberra, and was designed by Dr Suart Devlin AO, CMG.


Past awardees

© 2017 Australian Academy of Science