10th HOPE meeting held in Japan

A delegation of six Australian PhD students and young researchers attended the 10th HOPE meeting with Nobel Laureates held in Tokyo, organised by the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS). The subject fields included in the program were chemistry, physics, physiology/medicine, and other related fields.

The HOPE meetings are an opportunity for the participants to engage in interdisciplinary discussions with Nobel laureates and other distinguished scientists, as well as peers from other regions.

Lecturers at the meeting included Professor Takaaki Kajita, Nobel Laureate in Physics 2015, Professor Ada Yonath, Nobel Laureate in Chemistry 2009 and Sir J. Fraser Stoddart, Nobel Laureate in Chemistry 2016.

The following successful students and young researchers were put forward by the Academy. They were selected by a committee comprising of Academy Fellows from a competitive field of 38 applicants.

  • Ms. Lisa Alcock – Flinders University
  • Mr. James Aridas – Monash University
  • Ms. Tara Boulding – University of Canberra
  • Dr. Paddy Dempsey – Swinburne University of Technology
  • Ms. Kathryn Leslie – The University of Sydney
  • Dr. Jacquiline Romero – University of Queensland

On the last day of the meeting, James Aridas was a member of the group that won ‘Best Group Presentation’, presented by Dr. Kobayashi, the Chair of the 10th HOPE Meeting.

Funding for these participants to attend the meeting was provided by the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science.

© 2024 Australian Academy of Science