1st HOPE meeting, Tsukuba, 2008

Date and venue: February 24-29, 2008 (Tsukuba, Japan)

Subject fields: Nanoscience and nanotechnology

Lecturers: Dr Leo ESAKI (physics, 1973), Dr Alan HEEGER (chemistry, 2000), Dr Robert B. LAUGHLIN (physics, 1998), Dr Heinrich ROHRER (physics, 1986), Dr Hideki SHIRAKAWA (chemistry 2000) and other distinguished researchers.

Participants: 81 PhD students and young scientists from the 13 countries/areas in the Asia-pacific region: Australia, China, India, Indonesia, Japan, Korea (ROK.), Malaysia, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore, Chinese Taipei, Thailand and Vietnam

Australian participants:

  • Alisa Becker, The University of Melbourne
  • Benjamin Flavel, Flinders University
  • Richard Kydd, University of New South Wales
  • Andrew Malcolm, The University of Queensland
  • Brianna Thompson, University of Wollongong

© 2020 Australian Academy of Science