4th HOPE meeting, Tsukuba, 2012

Date and venue: March 7 - March 11, 2012 (Tsukuba, Japan)

Theme: Chemistry for creating the future

Lecturers: Dr John Ernest WALKER (chemistry, 1997), Dr Ryoji NOYORI (chemistry, 2001), Dr Roderick MACKINNON (chemistry, 2003), Dr Akira SUZUKI (chemistry, 2010), Dr Eiichi NEGISHI (chemistry, 2010), Dr Dan Shechtman (chemistry, 2011), Dr Leo ESAKI (physics, 1973), Dr Makoto KOBAYASHI (physics, 2008), and other distinguished researchers.

Participants: 100 PhD students and young scientists from the 17 countries/areas in the Asia-pacific and Africa region: Australia, Bangladesh, China, Egypt, India, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Korea (ROK), Malaysia, Mongolia, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand and Vietnam

Australian participants:

  • Will Anderson, The University of Queensland
  • Victoria Challinor, The University of Queensland
  • Bakul Gupta, University of New South Wales
  • Zalihe Hakki, The University of Melbourne
  • Ken Yong, The University of Queensland

© 2020 Australian Academy of Science