Ninth HOPE meeting, Tokyo, 2017

A delegation of six researchers travelled to Japan to attend the Ninth HOPE Meeting held at the Tokyo International Forum, (Tokyo, Japan) from 26 February to 2 March 2017. The subject fields for this year included physics, chemistry, physiology/medicine and related fields.

Lecturers at the Ninth HOPE Meeting included Professor Makoto Kobayashi, Nobel Laureate in Physics 2008; Professor Klaus von Klitzing, Nobel Laureate in Physics 1985; Professor Takaaki Kajita, Nobel Laureate in Physics 2015; Professor Ryoji Noyori, Nobel Laureate in Chemistry 2001; Professor Jean-Pierre Sauvage, Nobel Laureate in Chemistry 2016; Professor Edvard I. Moser, Nobel Laureate in Physiology/Medicine 2014; Professor Gunnar Öquist, Professor Emeritus Umeå University and other distinguished researchers.

Congratulations to:

  • Dr Nathalie Bock, Queensland University of Technology
  • Dr Fatima El-Assaad, UNSW Australia
  • Mr Benjamin Fulcher, Monash University
  • Mr Shuai Li, The Australian National University
  • Dr Lidia Matesic, Australian Nuclear science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO)
  • Ms Renee Webster, Defence Science and Technology Organisation

Funding for Australian participants to attend the 9th HOPE meeting was from the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science.

© 2020 Australian Academy of Science