Le Fèvre Medal


The call for nominations is currently closed

The 2024 awards are now closed for nomination.

The 2025 award round will open in early 2024.

Award background and eligibility

The Le Fèvre Medal for research in chemistry commemorates the work of the late Professor Raymond James Wood Le Fèvre FAA FRS. Its purpose is to recognise outstanding basic research in chemistry by researchers up to 10 years post-PhD in the calendar year of nomination, except in the case of significant interruptions to a research career. The award may be made annually, with a prize of $4,000, and is restricted to candidates who are normally resident in Australia and for research conducted mainly in Australia.

This award is open to nominations for candidates from all genders. The Australian Academy of Science encourages nominations of female candidates and of candidates from a broad geographical distribution.

Candidates may be put forward for more than one award. If a proposed candidate is already the recipient of an Academy early-career honorific award, they will not be eligible for nomination for another early-career or mid-career honorific award. A mid-career honorific award recipient will also not be eligible for nomination for another mid-career honorific award. Fellows of the Academy are ineligible to be nominated for early and mid-career awards.


(Please submit your nominations using the Nominate button found on the left of this webpage)


Formerly known as The Le Fèvre Memorial Prize for research in chemistry

© 2023 Australian Academy of Science