Macfarlane Burnet Medal and Lecture


The call for nominations is currently closed

The 2024 awards are closed for nomination.

The 2026 nomination round will open in early 2025.


Award background and eligibility

The Macfarlane Burnet Medal and Lecture recognises scientific research of the highest standing in the biological sciences. It is a career award that commemorates the contributions to science by Nobel Laureate Professor Sir Frank Macfarlane Burnet OM KBE MD FAA FRS Nobel Laureate. Along with the Matthew Flinders and Ruby Payne-Scott Medals, it is one of the most prestigious career awards of the Academy. Nominated candidates should normally be resident in Australia.

Candidates and nominators may be non Fellows.

As a Premier Award, this award is one of the Academy’s most prestigious awards recognising researchers of the highest standing over a career of whatever length.

Referee reports are not required as part of the nomination process for this award.

This award is open to nominations for candidates from all genders. The Australian Academy of Science encourages nominations of female candidates and of candidates from a broad geographical distribution.

If you need more information, please contact the Awards Officer at or phone +61 (0)2 6201 9467.

NB: To be eligible for nomination an appropriate period of time should elapse following the receipt of any other Academy award.


© 2024 Australian Academy of Science