Mawson Medal and Lecture


The call for nominations is currently closed

The 2024 awards are now closed for nomination.

The 2026 award round will open in early 2025.


Award background and eligibility

The Mawson Medal and Lecture recognise research in the Earth sciences and honours the contribution to science in Australia by Sir Douglas Mawson FAA FRS, geologist and Antarctic explorer. 

The award is normally made every two years, and is restricted to candidates who are normally resident in Australia and for research conducted mainly in Australia. The lecture is delivered at the time of each convention of the Geological Society of Australia.

Candidates may be put forward for more than one award. If a proposed candidate is already the recipient of an Academy award, the second award must be for a distinct, additional, body of work undertaken since the first award, and/or work in a different field.

The Australian Academy of Science encourages nominations of female candidates and of candidates from a broad geographical distribution.

The medal is made by The Royal Australian Mint, Canberra and was designed by Dr Stuart Devlin AO CMG.


© 2024 Australian Academy of Science