Nancy Millis Medal


The call for nominations is currently open

Closing date

May 01 2024 - 11:59 PM AEST

Nominations for the 2025 round are now open.

Award background and eligibility

The Nancy Millis Medal of the Australian Academy of Science has been established to honour the contributions made to science by the late Professor Nancy Millis AC MBE FAA FTSE and recognises her importance as a role model for women aspiring to be research leaders.

The award is open to women mid-career researchers, eight to fifteen years post-PhD in the calendar year of nomination except in the case of significant interruptions to a research career, in any branch of the physical and biological sciences. Recipients will have established an independent research program and demonstrated exceptional leadership.

The award is restricted to candidates who are normally resident in Australia and for research conducted mainly in Australia.

The Academy acknowledges the funding received from friends and colleagues of Professor Millis and the perpetual funding received from The University of Melbourne.

The Australian Academy of Science encourages nominations of candidates from a broad geographical distribution.

Candidates may be put forward for more than one award. If a proposed candidate is already the recipient of an Academy early-career honorific award, they will not be eligible for nomination for another early-career or a mid-career honorific award. A mid-career honorific award recipient will also not be eligible for nomination for another mid-career honorific award. Fellows of the Academy are ineligible to be nominated for early and mid-career awards.

The medal is made by the Royal Australian Mint, Canberra, and was designed by Mr Michael Meszaros.


Please submit your nominations using the Nominate button found on the left of this webpage.

Please note: From February 2024, the Academy is using a new nomination platform that is external to the main Academy site. Nominators will be required to create an account on the platform. Even if you are familiar with the nomination process, please allow extra time to familiarise yourself with the new platform.


Principal partner

University of Melbourne

Founding donors

The Academy would like to thank the following founding donors for their generous support of the Nancy Millis Medal:

  • J A Angus
  • E S Dennis
  • S Cory
  • I D Gust
  • E Hartland
  • A B Holmes
  • P Y Ladiges
  • J A Pittard
  • R Roush

© 2024 Australian Academy of Science