National Committee for Mathematical Sciences

The National Committee for Mathematical Sciences (NCMS) aims to foster mathematical sciences in Australia, to link the Academy to Australian mathematical scientists and relevant societies, and to serve as a link between Australian and overseas mathematical scientists, for example through the International Mathematical Union (IMU) and the International Commission on Mathematical Instruction (ICMI).

In March 2016, the NC Maths launched its decadal plan for the mathematical sciences, The mathematical sciences in Australia: A vision for 2025, It now works with the Australian maths community to implement the report’s recommendations.

In December 2022 the committee released the mid-term review of the 2016 decadal plan.


Statement on Mathematics Education

In February 2022 the Academy published a statement regarding proposed revisions to the Australian Curriculum for Mathematics.


Reports and activities

Related groups and organisations


  • Chair: Professor Alan Welsh
    • Australian National University, College of Business and Economics
    • Research expertise: Statistical inference, statistical modelling and robustness, nonparametric and semiparametric methods, analysis of sample surveys, ecological monitoring
  • Ex-officio: Associate Professor Jessica Kasza
    • Monash University, School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine
    • Research expertise: Biostatistics, causal inference, cluster randomised trials, and stepped wedge
  • Ex-officio: Professor Catherine Attard
    • Western Sydney University, Professor in Mathematics Education and Deputy Director of the Centre for Educational Research
    • Research expertise: Teaching and learning in primary mathematics
  • Committee member: Mr John Bament
    • O’Loughlin Catholic College, Head of STEM
    • Research expertise: Mathematics
  • Committee member: Distinguished Professor Kerrie Mengersen
    • Queensland University of Technology, School of Mathematical Sciences
    • Research expertise: Novel statistical and computational methods
  • Committee member: Professor Nalini Joshi
    • The University of Sydney, Chair of Applied Mathematics
    • Research expertise: Distribution of large prime numbers, collisions of atomic particles, aircraft boarding times
  • Ex-officio: Professor Ole Warnaar
    • The University of Queensland, Chair and Professor of Pure Maths Mathematics
    • Research expertise: Algebra and number theory, Combinatorics, and Pure mathematics
  • Committee member: Professor Serena Dipierro
    • The University of Western Australia, School of Physics, Maths and Computing
    • Research expertise: Partial differential equations, free boundary problems, nonlocal equations, calculus of variations, nonlinear analysis
  • Committee member: Jessica Purcell
    • Monash University, School of Mathematics
    • Research expertise: Geometry and topology
  • Ex-officio: Professor Catherine Greenhill
    • UNSW Sydney, School of Mathematics and Statistics, head of the Combinatorics group
    • Research expertise: Combinatorics and discrete mathematics, analysis of algorithms and complexity
  • Committee member: Professor Gary Froyland
    • UNSW Sydney, School of Mathematics and Statistics
    • Research expertise: interplay of probability and geometry in nonlinear and chaotic dynamical systems
  • Committee member: Professor Kim Beswick
    • UNSW Sydney, Head of the School of Education, and Professor of Mathematics Education
    • Research expertise: how professional learning can provide a catalyst for change
  • Committee member: Dr Allan Dougan
    • Australian Association of Mathematics Teachers, Chief Executive Officer
    • Research expertise: Mathematics teaching and learning

© 2023 Australian Academy of Science