Academy re-elected to IAP for Science Executive Committee

April 30, 2019
Emeritus Professor Cheryl Praeger (left) with Professor Cherry Murray, a physicist from Harvard who was elected co-chair of the IAP for Science.

The Australian Academy of Science has been elected to the InterAcademy Partnership (IAP) for Science Executive Committee for a second term of three years.

The IAP held its General Assembly in Seoul, Korea on 11 April. More than 100 representatives from 54 countries attended the assembly, hosted by the Korean Academy of Science and Technology.

Emeritus Professor Cheryl Praeger, the Academy’s immediate past Foreign Secretary, attended the assembly as voting delegate of the Academy.

The IAP is a global network of the world’s science, medicine and engineering academies that collaborates to advance evidence-based policies and provide independent expert advice on pressing challenges.

The IAP consists of three interconnected networks: Science, Policy and Health. In particular, IAP for Science focuses on the scientific aspects of global issues—such as sustainable development, the theme of the two-day conference that preceded the General Assembly.

© 2020 Australian Academy of Science