Supporting the Academy

Since its creation by Royal Charter in 1954, gifts and legacies from Fellows and friends have helped the Academy to maintain a degree of financial independence. Many of our core activities such as scientific meetings, advice to support policy development, publications, science education, public awareness and outreach, and awards and fellowships would not be possible without this long-term support. It is critical to achieving our strategic objectives.

Find out more about supporting the Academy

We are deeply grateful to the following individuals and organisations for their extraordinary generosity. Our Academy Pillars have, over time, contributed an outstanding level of support to the Australian Academy of Science.

Private giving

Academy Pillars
(Donations of or valued at $500,000 +)
In perpetuity

  • Sir Jack Ellerton Becker FAA
  • Estate of Thomas Lewis Davis
  • Department of Communications, Information Technology and the Arts
  • FJ Fenner AC CMG MBE FAA FRS and Mrs Bobbie Fenner
  • Dr Margaret Middleton
  • The Royal Society (UK)—Theo Murphy (Australia) Fund
  • Estate of Ian Gordon Ross AO FAA
  • Estate of Miss JG Russell
  • Professor John Shine AO FAA
  • Telstra

The Australian Academy of Science acknowledges the support of donors who have given generously between 1 May 2015 and 31 July 2015. Their support plays a critical role in helping the Academy achieve its mission. In this newsletter, we are happy to introduce the new donor categories, in preparation for the implementation of the 2016 Annual Giving Program. 

President's Circle
(Donations of or valued at $100,000 – $499,999)

Science Circle
(Donations of or valued at $20,000 – $99,999)

  • Dr Margaret R Middleton

Academy Supporters
(Donations of or valued at $10,000 – $19,999)

  • Dr Jennifer Gordon
  • Dr T J Higgins FAA FTSE and Mrs Peggy Horn

Friends of the Academy
(Donations of or valued at $5,000 – $9,999)

  • Dr E Ball
  • Professor M Ball FAA
  • Professor Sir G J V Nossal AC CBE FAA FRS FTSE

Academy Associates
(Donations of or valued at $1,000 – $4,999)

  • Professor M N Barber FAA FTSE
  • Dr Alexis Berry
  • Dr J A Church FAA
  • Professor Fred Mendelsohn AO FAA
  • Dr R E Munns FAA

Donors $500 $999

Donors up to $499

  • Professor S Cory AC FAA FRS
  • Professor S von Caemmerer FAA
  • Professor N Fletcher AM FAA FTSE
  • Professor J O Newton FAA
  • Professor S O Warnaar FAA

Anonymous: 2

NOTE: The Australian Academy of Science is registered as a Deductible Gift Recipient (DGR). Your donation to the Academy is fully tax-deductible.


  • Australian Research Council
  • Australian Council of Learned Academics
  • Department of Education and Training
  • Office of the Chief Scientist
  • Questacon—the National Science and Technology Centre


SponsorsOther Academy-related events

EMCR Travel Sponsorships
1 May 2015 to 31 July 2015

  • Australian National University
  • Deakin University
  • University of Canberra
  • The Victorian Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning

2015 Theo Murphy Think Tank
1 February 2015 to 30 April 2015

  • Faculty of Science, University of New South Wales—Dinner Sponsor

August Public Talk

  • Centre for Ultrahigh bandwidth Devices for Optical Systems (CUDOS)—Entertainment Sponsor

Wine Sponsor
The Academy would like to thank Bill Mason from Regional Wine and Beverage Merchants Pty Ltd (RWBM) for his generous donation of wines for all Academy events across the year.

Kitchen Witchery Catering

For more information about giving to the Academy through a donation or bequest, please contact:

Ms Isobel Griffin MFIA
Fundraising and Development Manager
Phone: 02 6201 9471

NOTE: Every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of this report. We sincerely apologise if any error or omission has occurred. If you notice an error or omission please notify Academy of Science on 02 6201 9400.

Newsletter number 101 September 2015

© 2022 Australian Academy of Science