Nominations open for PM's Science Prizes

February 27, 2019

Do you know an inspiring scientist, innovator, or science, maths or technology teacher?

Nominate them for the 2019 Primer Minister’s Prizes for Science.

The Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science are Australia’s most prestigious awards for outstanding achievements in scientific research, research-based innovation, and excellence in science teaching.

Prize recipients share $750,000 in prize money, and have the opportunity to showcase important work undertaken in their field.

Prizes for research:

  • Prime Minister’s Prize for Science ($250,000)
  • Frank Fenner Prize for Life Scientist of the Year ($50,000)
  • Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year ($50,000)

Prizes for innovation:

  • Prime Minister's Prize for Innovation ($250,000)
  • Prize for New Innovators ($50,000)

Prizes for science, mathematics or technology teaching:

  • Prime Minister’s Prize for Excellence in Science Teaching in Primary Schools ($50,000)
  • Prime Minister’s Prize for Excellence in Science Teaching in Secondary Schools ($50,000)

The Frank Fenner, Malcom McIntosh and New Innovators prizes are awarded for early-career achievements made within 10 years (full time or full time equivalent) of completing relevant studies. The New Innovators prize rewards steps towards translating research into a commercially available product.

The work of researchers, innovators and teachers often shape Australian society and improve lives. You can show someone you value their contribution by nominating them for a prize.

Nominations are encouraged from all eligible scientists, innovators and teachers including from groups under-represented in these fields such as women and Indigenous Australians.

Find out more about the Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science and how to nominate someone you know.

© 2020 Australian Academy of Science