Lindau meeting among recent international highlights

July 16, 2018

On this page:

Lindau Nobel Laureate meeting

Woman speaking into a microphone, seated on stage with two men, and a large screen behind them with a close-up of her speaking
Amy Shepherd presented on scientific publishing practices at the Lindau Nobel Laureate meeting in June.

In late June, eight top young Australian scientists were supported by the Science and Industry Endowment Fund and the Academy to attend the 68th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting in Germany. The delegation was led by Academy Fellow Professor Jennifer Martin. A total of 600 young scientists from 84 nations had the opportunity to interact with, and learn from, 39 Nobel Laureates.

The young Australian scientists were:

  • Dr Lee Ashton, Nutrition, University of Newcastle
  • Dr Ryan Farr, Circulating biomarkers, CSIRO
  • Ms Jessica Kretzmann, Chemistry, University of Newcastle
  • Ms Hayley McNamara, Immunology, Australian National University
  • Mr Gregory Quaife-Ryan, Cardiac development and regeneration, University of Queensland
  • Dr Elena Schneider, Respiratory medicine, University of Melbourne
  • Ms Amy Shepherd, Neuroscience, Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health
  • Dr Yuan Zhou, Genetics, University of Tasmania

Nobel Laureate Fellows at the meeting were Professor Peter Doherty and Professor Robin Warren, along with Corresponding Members Professor Elizabeth Blackburn and Professor Rolf Zinkernagel.

The week-long meeting, covering medicine and physiology, included topics on the circadian clock, personalised medicine, genetic engineering and the role of science in a ‘post-factual’ era. A panel discussion was held on scientific publishing practices, on which Australian participant Amy Shepherd was selected to present.

Professor Frances Separovic will represent Australia on the Regional Committee for Asia and the Pacific.

Fellow to represent Australia on regional committee

Professor Frances Separovic FAA has been elected to the Regional Committee for Asia and the Pacific (RCAP) for the newly-formed International Science Council. This will give Australia the opportunity to participate in the Regional Office’s activities, such as promoting the development of science throughout Asia and the Pacific and strengthening the voice of developing country scientists in this region.

International biochemistry and molecular biology congress to be held in Australia

The Australian Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB) will be hosting the 2024 International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (IUBMB) Congress.

The Academy is the Australian member of IUBMB, and Professor Janet Macaulay from Monash University is a member of the union’s Executive Board. Professor Macaulay is also a member of the Academy’s National Committee for Biomedical Sciences.

Scientific congresses such as this are immensely beneficial presenting platforms and promotional opportunities for Australian science. They are also beneficial for our economy: each week-long event attracts several thousand international delegates, with an estimated average daily expenditure of $232 by each delegate visiting Australia. The Academy’s membership of the International Council for Science has enabled 40 such events between 2007 and 2017, bringing an estimated $118 million to Australia. 

More international news

© 2023 Australian Academy of Science