Australian Academy of Science Newsletter 138

Message from the Chief Executive

The Academy’s Fellowship is the heart of our organisation, and we’ve recently announced the new Academy Fellows for 2020.

New Fellows 2020

Australia’s top scientists elected as Fellows of the Academy

Twenty-four outstanding scientists have been elected as Fellows of the Academy in recognition of their significant impacts in their scientific disciplines.

Two new Corresponding Members admitted to the Academy

Professor Jane Langdale of the University of Oxford and Professor Erwin Neher of the Max Planck Institute have been admitted as Corresponding Members of the Academy.

Academy reports national progress in diversity and inclusion during 2019

National progress in diversity and inclusion in the science sector was one of the many achievements highlighted in the Academy’s recently published annual report.

Panel Pledge 2020

Academy Council takes Panel Pledge to encourage gender diversity

All Academy Council members have signed the Panel Pledge, marking their commitment towards gender equity.

Pandemic risks wiping out hard-won gains by women in STEM

Hard-won gains for women’s advancement in the STEM workforce are now at risk of a major setback due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

COVID-19 impacts on Australian research workforce predicted to be significant

Australia’s research workforce will be severely impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic and the effects are likely to be felt for an extended period.

Applications open for Falling Walls Lab 2020

The Academy invites applications from postdocs and students, entrepreneurs, engineers and innovators to present at the virtual event Falling Walls Lab Australia 2020 in September.

Rhys Pirie—six months after breaking the wall of broken glass

Find out how Rhys Pirie has benefited from winning Falling Walls Berlin last November.

In memoriam gift to the Academy celebrates the life and work of Professor Sally Smith

Academy Fellow Professor Andrew Smith recently made a donation in memory of his wife Professor Sally Smith FAA to support two Academy awards.

Choose the Shine Dome for your next Canberra event

As we look forward to the easing of restrictions across Australia, the Academy is now taking bookings for the Shine Dome venue for late 2020 and beyond.

Science policy update

The Academy continues to deliver COVID-19 related activities, such as the Rapid Research Information Forum formed under the leadership of Australia’s Chief Scientist, Dr Alan Finkel.

Diversity and inclusion update

The Academy has collated key learnings and practical solutions from the Catalysing Gender Equity Conference 2020 with the next steps needed to advance gender equity in STEM.

Opportunities for scientists

  • RACI National Awards
  • Eppendorf & Science Prize for Neurobiology
  • Victoria Prize for Science and Innovation
  • Victoria Fellowships
  • BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards
  • Queen Elizabeth Prize in Engineering
  • 2021 Australian of the Year Awards

National Committees update

  • International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics (IUGG) Newsletter
  • Space and Radio Science News and Opportunities

Fellows update

  • Honours and awards to Fellows
  • Obituary for Professor Lord Robert May

Honorary editor: Professor Yuri Estrin FAA


© 2024 Australian Academy of Science