Young researchers benefit from genomes and biodiversity workshop

November 28, 2019
Speaker in front of large group of young adults in a conference room who are seated at tables using laptops
EMCRs and PhD students in the life sciences made the most of the opportunity to network with other researchers from different backgrounds

A recent successful research and career development workshop, Genomes and Biodiversity: Research and Career Development, has supported young researchers and assisted them to make connections with others that will strengthen their work.

Fifty early- and mid-career researchers (EMCRs) and PhD students in the life sciences joined the three-day event at the University of Sydney, which included hands-on training in managing big data, professional development and opportunities to present their research.

Academy Fellow Professor Steve Simpson from the University of Sydney opened the event, followed by Fellow Professor Edward Holmes, also from the university, who made the keynote presentation. Dr Ida Moltke from the University of Copenhagen presented on highlights from genetic studies of the Greenlandic population, and the event concluded with a public talk by Dr Rebecca Johnson from the Australian Museum.

Attendees provided very positive feedback and made the most of the opportunity to network with other researchers from different backgrounds, reinforcing how important it is to their careers that the Academy supports these types of activities. Several mobility grants were offered to make it possible for a diversity of participants to attend.

This was the second event of this round of the Theo Murphy Initiative. The Theo Murphy Initiative (Australia) supports activities which provide tangible benefits to Australia’s EMCR community, with the overall goal of furthering scientific discovery. Activities are managed by the Academy and funds are made available by the generous support of the Royal Society through the Theo Murphy (Australia) Fund.

The Genomes and Biodiversity workshop was supported by the Academy through the Theo Murphy Initiative, the University of Sydney and the University of Copenhagen.

© 2022 Australian Academy of Science