National Committee for Astronomy

Australia in the era of global astronomy: The decadal plan for Australian astronomy 2016–2025 was published in July 2015 and presents the strategic vision for Australian astronomy for the next decade. The plan is based on the reports of 11 working groups, comprising over 150 astronomers, engineers and educators from over 30 Australian institutions across all states and the ACT, in a process run by the Academy's National Committee for Astronomy during 2014 and 2015.

The document follows on from the success of the Committee’s 2006 plan, New horizons: a decadal plan for Australian astronomy 2006–15. This publication was highly influential in presenting the community's vision to stakeholders outside the research sector, including key stakeholder the Commonwealth Government and industrial/research partners nationally and internationally.

2019–20 mid-term review of the Decadal Plan for Australian Astronomy


Reports and activities

Related groups and organisations


Professor Lister Staveley-Smith
Professor Virginia Kilborn
Deputy Chair
Associate Professor Amanda Karakas
Associate Professor Andrew Cole
Professor Andrew Hopkins
Mr Ben Scandrett
Observer - Ex-Officio
A/Professor Cath Trott
Member - Ex-Officio
(ASA President)
Dr Douglas Bock
Member - Ex-Officio
(ATNF Director)
Dr Manodeep Sinha
EMCR Forum member
Professor Matthew Colless
Member - Ex-Officio
(RSAA Director - AAT/GMT)
Professor Naomi McClure-Griffiths
Observer - Ex-Officio
(AAL Chair)
Associate Professor Sarah Brough
Professor Tim Bedding FAA

© 2021 Australian Academy of Science