Academy announces 2016 Fellows

May 23, 2016

Former Australian of the year and mental health advocate Professor Patrick McGorry and Australia’s Chief Scientist Dr Alan Finkel are among 21 leading scientists to be elected to the Australian Academy of Science.

The six women and 15 men have made outstanding contributions to a range of scientific areas including agriculture, advanced communications and cancer research. 

Academy of Science President, Professor Andrew Holmes, congratulated all of the new Fellows elected this year for making significant and lasting impacts in their scientific disciplines.

“The breadth of scientific talent recognised in this year’s election is truly awe-inspiring. From breakthroughs in pure science to spurring scientific innovations, these new Fellows have made an impact on everything from the way we treat disease to how we grow our food to advancing our fundamental knowledge about the world in which we live,” Professor Holmes said.

New Fellows will be admitted to the Academy in a formal ceremony today in Canberra, and will make presentations about their work tomorrow at the Academy’s annual flagship event, Science at the Shine Dome

Our 2016 Fellows are:

  • Dr Ian ALLISON University of Tasmania
  • Professor David BELLWOOD, James Cook University
  • Professor Benjamin EGGLETON, University of Sydney
  • Emeritus Professor Geoffrey FINCHER, University of Adelaide
  • Dr Alan FINKEL, Office of the Chief Scientist
  • Professor Simon FOOTE, ANU
  • Professor J. Justin GOODING, UNSW
  • Professor Geoffrey LINDEMAN, The Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research
  • Professor Alexander MCBRATNEY, University of Sydney
  • Professor Patrick MCGORRY, Orygen: The National Centre of Excellence in Youth Mental Health, University of Melbourne
  • Professor Neville NICHOLLS, Monash University
  • Professor Stephen NUTT, The Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research
  • Professor Sarah ROBERTSON, University of Adelaide
  • Professor Halina RUBINSZTEIN-DUNLOP, University of Queensland
  • Professor Susan SCOTT, Australian National University
  • Dr Daniela STOCK, Victor Chang Cardiac Research Institute
  • Professor Fedor SUKOCHEV, UNSW
  • Professor Toby WALSH, UNSW
  • Professor Naomi WRAY, University of Queensland

The Academy will also this week admit two new Corresponding Members, or foreign Fellows. They are:

More information on our new Fellows, and a full list of our 511 Fellows.

© 2022 Australian Academy of Science