Christopher Heyde Medal


Nominations for the 2019 awards are now open and will close by 9:00am (AEST) 1 May 2018. 
​Refree reports are due by 9:00am (AEST) 1 June 2018.


Christopher Heyde Medal

The Christopher Heyde Medal honours the contributions to mathematics by Professor Christopher Charles Heyde AM, DSc, Hon DSc(Syd), FAA, FASSA. Professor Heyde was the Foundation Dean of the School of Mathematical Sciences at the Australian National University, and Professor Emeritus of Statistics at Columbia University, New York.

In recognition of Professor Heyde’s broad interests in the mathematical sciences the award is offered in one of three fields on a rotating basis:

  • 2019 - pure mathematics
  • 2020 - applied, computational and financial mathematics
  • 2021 – No award please see Moran medal
  • 2022 - probability theory, statistical methodology and their applications
  • 2023 - pure mathematics
  • 2024 - applied, computational and financial mathematics
  • 2025 - No award please see Moran medal

The award’s purpose is to recognise distinguished research in the mathematical sciences by researchers up to 10 years post PhD in the calendar year of nomination, except in the case of significant interruptions to a research career. The award may be made annually, with a prize of $6,000, and is restricted to candidates who are normally resident in Australia.

The Australian Academy of Science encourages nominations of female candidates and of candidates from a broad geographical distribution.

NB: If a proposed candidate is already the recipient of an Academy early-career honorific award, they will not be eligible for nomination for another early-career or mid-career honorific award. A mid-career honorific award recipient will also not be eligible for nomination for another mid-career honorific award.



© 2018 Australian Academy of Science