Christopher Heyde Medal


The call for nominations is currently closed

The 2024 awards are now closed for nomination.

The 2025 award round will open in early 2024.

Award background and eligibility

The Christopher Heyde Medal honours the contributions to mathematics by the late Professor Christopher Charles Heyde AM, DSc, Hon DSc(Syd), FAA, FASSA. Professor Heyde was the Foundation Dean of the School of Mathematical Sciences at the Australian National University, and Professor Emeritus of Statistics at Columbia University, New York.

In recognition of Professor Heyde’s broad interests in the mathematical sciences the award is offered in one of the following fields on a rotating basis:

  • 2024 - Pure mathematics, applied, computational and financial mathematics
  • 2025 - Pure mathematics, applied, computational and financial mathematics
  • 2026 - Probability theory, statistical methodology and their applications

The award’s purpose is to recognise outstanding research in the mathematical sciences by researchers up to 10 years post PhD in the calendar year of nomination, except in the case of significant interruptions to a research career. The award may be made annually, with a prize of $6,000, and is restricted to candidates who are normally resident in Australia.

This award is open to nominations for candidates from all genders. The Australian Academy of Science encourages nominations of female candidates and of candidates from a broad geographical distribution.

Candidates may be put forward for more than one award. If a proposed candidate is already the recipient of an Academy early-career honorific award, they will not be eligible for nomination for another early-career or mid-career honorific award. A mid-career honorific award recipient will also not be eligible for nomination for another mid-career honorific award. Fellows of the Academy are ineligible to be nominated for early and mid-career awards.

The medal is made by the Royal Australian Mint, Canberra, and was designed by Mr Wojciech Pietranik.


(Please submit your nominations using the Nominate button found on the left of this webpage)


© 2023 Australian Academy of Science