John Booker Medal


The call for nominations is currently open

Closing date

May 01 2024 - 11:59 PM AEST

Nominations for the 2025 round are now open.

Award background and eligibility

The John Booker Medal in Engineering Science recognises outstanding research in engineering mechanics that addresses problems in the static and dynamic response of physical systems within engineering and applied mathematics disciplines. It honours the memory of Professor John Robert Booker AO, FAA, DEng, FIEAust who worked in the area of theoretical geomechanics and was Professor in the Department of Civil and Mining Engineering at The University of Sydney 1970‒98, and held a personal chair in engineering mechanics at The University of Sydney.

The prize of up to $3,000 is awarded annually to researchers up to 10 years post-PhD in the calendar year of nomination, except in the case of significant interruptions to a research career. The award is restricted to candidates who are normally resident in Australia and for research conducted mainly in Australia.

The Academy acknowledges the financial support of the Group of Eight (Go8) Deans of Engineering and Associates.

This award is open to nominations for candidates from all genders. The Australian Academy of Science encourages nominations of female candidates and of candidates from a broad geographical distribution.

Candidates may be put forward for more than one award. If a proposed candidate is already the recipient of an Academy early-career honorific award, they will not be eligible for nomination for another early-career or mid-career honorific award. A mid-career honorific award recipient will also not be eligible for nomination for another mid-career honorific award. Fellows of the Academy are ineligible to be nominated for early and mid-career awards.

The medal is made and designed by the Royal Australian Mint, Canberra.


Please submit your nominations using the Nominate button found on the left of this webpage.

Please note: From February 2024, the Academy is using a new nomination platform that is external to the main Academy site. Nominators will be required to create an account on the platform. Even if you are familiar with the nomination process, please allow extra time to familiarise yourself with the new platform.



This award has been made available through generous contributions from the following university faculties.

Faculty of Engineering, Computing and Mathematical Sciences
The University of Adelaide
Faculty of Engineering
University of Wollongong
Faculty of Engineering
University of New South Wales
Faculty of Engineering, Computing and Mathematics
The University of Western Australia
College of Engineering and Computer Science
Australian National University
Faculty of Engineering
The University of Sydney
Faculty of Engineering
The University of Melbourne
Faculty of Engineering and Built Environment
University of Newcastle
Faculty of Engineering, Architecture & Information Technology
The University of Queensland
Faculty of Information Technology
Monash University

© 2024 Australian Academy of Science