National Committee for Geographical Sciences

The National Committee for Geographical Sciences (NCGS) fosters geography in Australia, links the Academy to Australian geographers and relevant scientific societies, and links Australian geographers to their overseas counterparts, primarily through the International Geographical Union (IGU).

Geography: Shaping Australia’s Future

Geography: Shaping Australia’s Future was published by the National Committee for Geographical Sciences in 2018 and presents a detailed report on geography as a discipline in Australia. It provides a unified vision for Australian geography over the next decade. The plan provides a framework for engaging research, teaching and industry that aligns strategically with contemporary social, economic and environmental challenges of our region.

Learn more about Geography: Shaping Australia’s Future.


Reports and activities

Related groups and organisations


© 2023 Australian Academy of Science