National Committee for Nutrition

Go to the Nourishing Australia resource page

The National Committee for Nutrition fosters nutritional science in Australia, links the Academy to Australian nutritional scientists and relevant scientific and other societies, and links Australian and overseas nutritionists, primarily through the International Union of Nutritional Sciences (IUNS).


Reports and activities

Related groups and organisations


  • Chair: Professor Margaret Allman-Farinelli
    • University of Sydney, Faculty of Medicine and Health
    • Research expertise: Dietetics from food and nutritional science to prevention of lifestyle associated chronic disease
  • Ex-officio: Professor Vicki Flood
    • Nutrition Society of Australia, President
    • The University of Sydney, Head of Clinical School, Northern Rivers and Director of University Centre for Rural Health (UCRH).
    • Research expertise: Nutrition, neurodegenerative diseases, food security of vulnerable populations, micronutrients, Aboriginal health research, nutrition in ageing and disability.
  • Ex-officio: Magriet Raxworthy
    • Dietitians Australia, CEO
    • Expertise: Dietetics, nutrition, healthcare, business management, policy.
  • Ex-officio: Associate Professor Therese O’Sullivan
    • Council of Deans of Nutrition and Dietetics Australia and New Zealand, Chair
    • Edith Cowan University, Nutrition and Dietetics
    • Research expertise: The Milky Way Study, child-centred Research – A Respectful Approach to Research with Children
  • Committee member: Dr Catherine Bondonno
    • Edith Cowan University, Research Fellow, Nutrition and Health Innovation Research Institute (NHIRI)
    • Research expertise: Nitric oxide-mediated cardiovascular benefits of dietary nitrate and polyphenols
  • Committee member: Dr Katherine Livingstone
    • Deakin University, NHMRC Emerging Leadership Fellow and Senior Research Fellow, Institute for Physical Activity and Nutrition (IPAN)
    • Research expertise: Dietary patterns, diet quality, obesity, personalised nutrition and cardiovascular disease
  • Committee member: Professor Eugeni Roura
    • University of Queensland, Director of Higher Degree Research, Queensland Alliance for Agriculture and Food Innovation
    • Research expertise: Nutritional chemosensing
  • Committee member: Dr Anneline Padayachee
    • The Food and Nutrition Doctor, Nutritional Food Science
    • Research expertise: Processing technology, nutrient and food composition, digestive processes
  • Committee member: Dr Emma Louise Beckett
    • University of Newcastle, School of Environmental and Life Sciences
    • Research expertise: Immunology & microbiology, reproductive health, food choice behaviours
  • Committee member: Professor Sarah McNaughton
    • The University of Queensland, Professor and Discipline lead for Nutrition and Dietetics for UQ’s School of Human Movement and Nutrition Sciences.
    • Research expertise: Understanding the role of foods, eating patterns and dietary patterns in health and wellbeing
  • Committee member: Dr Daniel Hwang
    • University of Queensland, Institute for Molecular Bioscience
    • Research expertise: Sensory nutrition and genetic epidemiology
  • Committee member: Dr Katherine Kent
    • Western Sydney University, School of Health Sciences
    • Research expertise: Clinical Trials, dementia, food security
  • Committee member: Professor Danielle Gallegos
    • Queensland University of Technology, School of Exercise and Nutrition Sciences, Director at the International Confederation of Dietetic Associations.
    • Research expertise: Public health nutrition, food security, food literacy, child nutrition, nutrition, dietetics, qualitative methodologies, philosophy.
  • Observer: Professor Helen Truby
    • The University of Queensland, Professor and Chair in Human Nutrition
    • Research expertise: Dietetics, nutrition
  • Observer: Professor Stephen Simpson
    • The University of Sydney, Academic Director of the Charles Perkins Centre, and Professor in the School of Life and Environmental Sciences
    • Research expertise: Integrative modelling framework

© 2024 Australian Academy of Science