National Committee for Data in Science

The National Committee for Data in Science aims to foster the discipline of data science in Australia, link the Academy to relevant Australian scientists, practitioners and societies, and serve as a link between Australian and overseas scientists, primarily through establishing links with international unions in the field of data science.


Professor Jane Hunter
Dr Lesley Wyborn
Deputy Chair
Dr Darren Croton
Dr Danny Kingsley
Dr Ross Wilkinson
Professor Peter Bartlett
Professor Andy Pitman


Reports and activities

Related groups and organisations

Open data in a big world

The 2015 edition of Science International has developed an international accord on the values of open data in the emerging scientific culture of big data. The Accord recognises the need for an international framework of principles on “Open Data in a Big Data World” and proposes a comprehensive set of principles.

Science International is a series of regular meetings of four top-level representatives of international science: the International Council for Science (ICSU), the InterAcademy Partnership (IAP), The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) and the International Social Science Council (ISSC).

© 2017 Australian Academy of Science