Opportunities for scientists—April 2018

April 16, 2018

In addition to the Academy’s honorific awards and research grants, travelling fellowships, and research conference funding, the following opportunities are now open for applications and nominations.

See more external awards and prizes

Australian–French Entrepreneurship Challenge

The Australian Academy of Science and the French Embassy invite PhD candidates to apply to participate in the third Australian–French Entrepreneurship Challenge.

The Australian–French Entrepreneurship Challenge brings together creative-minded PhD candidates to brainstorm innovative ideas right through from concept to creation—all in the space of 24 hours. This year’s challenge is organised by Macquarie University, with the support of the Academy, the French Embassy in Australia, and the Australian and French business communities.

More information on the Australian–French Entrepreneurship Challenge

Applications close 7 May 2018

Falling Walls Lab Australia 2018

Applications from Australian researchers, postdocs and students, entrepreneurs, engineers and innovators from all areas to attend Falling Walls Lab Australia 2018 are now open.

20 contestants will be invited to participate in this challenge with each required to give a 3 minute presentation on their research work, business model, social idea or initiative based on the ‘Which walls will fall next’ concept.

Candidates should be research active in any field of the natural sciences, including technology, engineering and medicine as well as social sciences and humanities.

More information on Falling Walls Lab Australia

Applications close 28 May 2018

Visit to the National Institutes of Health in the USA by a junior scientist

The Academy invites applications from junior Australian scientists, who are no more than 30 at the time of application, to visit the National Institutes of Health (NIH) in the United States of America during 2019 for between 6 and 13 weeks.

The successful applicant will receive a contribution towards the direct return air travel between Australia and the host institution up to a maximum of US$3,000 provided by the Foundation for the National Institutes of Health (FNIH). A once-off living allowance of up to a maximum of A$400 will be provided by the Adam J. Berry Memorial Fund (AJBMF). The National Institutes of Health (NIH) will provide a small daily stipend during the participant’s stay in America.

More information on the NIH visit

Applications close 12 June 2018

KNAW Bob Pinedo Cancer Care Award

The KNAW Bob Pinedo Cancer Care Award is a biennial award intended for a researcher or team of researchers whose contribution to translational cancer research and compassionate cancer patient care is regarded as outstanding.

The Award consists of a cash prize of €100,000 and a bronze sculpture in the form of Professor Pinedo's hand.

The Academy is responsible for selecting the winner or winners.

More information on KNAW Bob Pinedo Cancer Care Award

Nominations close 1 May 2018

International Prize for Biology

The International Prize for Biology is awarded to an individual who has made outstanding contribution to the advancement of research in fundamental biology. The research field for 2018 is palaeontology, with a prize of 10 million Yen.

More Information on the International Prize for Biology

Applications close 20 April 2018

Australian Museum Eureka Prizes

Seventeen Australian Museum Eureka Prizes are awarded in the categories of:

  • research and innovation
  • leadership
  • science engagement
  • school science.

More information on the Australian Museum Eureka Prizes

 Applications close 4 May 2018

South Australian Science Excellence Awards

The SA Science Excellence Awards are awarded to high achievers in research, industry and education in South Australia. The South Australian Scientist of the Year will receive $25,000 prize money and winners of other categories will receive $10,000.

More information on the South Australian Science Excellence Awards

Nominations close 11 May 2018

Bower Award and Prize for Achievement in Science

The Bower Award and Prize for Achievement in Science is awarded to individuals who have made significant contributions to green and sustainable chemistry—chemistry focused on the technological design of chemical products and processes that reduce or eliminate the use or generation of hazardous substances. The prize is US$250,000.

More information on the Bower Award and Prize for Achievement in Science

Nominations close 31 May 2018

Resilient Australia Awards

The Resilient Australia Awards is a nationwide program to recognise and promote initiatives that strengthen community disaster resilience.

More information on the Resilient Australia Awards

Applications close 31 May 2018

Eric and Sheila Samson Prime Minister’s Prize for Innovation in Alternative Fuels for Transportation

The Eric and Sheila Samson Prime Minister’s Prize is awarded annually to individual(s) for global innovation or a scientific or technology breakthrough in the field of alternative fuels for transportation. The recipient(s) can be citizens of any country. The prize is US$1,000,000.

Eric and Sheila Samson Prime Minister’s Prize

Nominations close 31 May 2018

© 2022 Australian Academy of Science