User login

Nobel Australians

2011 Nobel Prize in Physics

Professor Brian Schmidt AC FAA FRS along with two American researchers, Professor Saul Perlmutter and Adam Riess, won the prize for their discovery that the expansion of the Universe is accelerating.
Further information | Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science Awards speech

2009 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine

Professors Elizabeth Blackburn AC FAA FRS, with Professors Carol Greider and Jack Szostak 'for the discovery of how chromosomes are protected by telomeres and the enzyme telomerase’.
About the prize winners | Telomeres | Telomeres, telomerase and cancer

2005 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine

Professor Barry James Marshall AC FAA FRS and Dr Robin Warren AC FAA 'for their discovery of the bacterium Helicobacter pylori and its role in gastritis and peptic ulcer disease'.
Further information | Poster

1996 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine

Professor Peter Charles Doherty AC FAA FRS shared with Rolf Martin Zinkernagel AC FAA 'for their discoveries concerning the specificity of the cell mediated immune defence'.
Further information | Poster front | Poster back

1975 Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Professor Sir John Warcup Cornforth AC FAA FRS shared with Professor Vladimir Prelog FRS  'for their work on the stereochemistry of enzyme-catalyzed reactions'.

1973 Nobel Prize in Literature

Patrick White for his novel The Eye of the Storm – 'an epic and psychological narrative art which has introduced a new continent into literature'.

1970 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine

Sir Bernard Katz FRS shared with Professor Ulf von Euler and Julius Axelrod 'for their discoveries concerning the humoral transmittors in the nerve terminals and the mechanism for their storage, release and inactivation'.

1963 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine

Sir John Carew Eccles AC Kt FAA FRS shared with Sir Alan Lloyd Hodgkin OM KBE FRS and Sir Andrew Fielding Huxley OM PRS 'for their discoveries concerning the ionic mechanisms involved in excitation and inhibition in the peripheral and central portions of the nerve cell membrane'.

1960 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine

Sir Frank Macfarlane Burnet OM AK KBE FAA FRS shared with Sir Peter Brian Medawar OM CBE FRS 'for discovery of acquired immunological tolerance'.

1945 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine

Baron Howard Walter Florey MO FRS shared with Sir Ernst Boris Chain FRS and Sir Alexander Fleming FRS 'for the discovery of penicillin and its curative effect in various infectious diseases'.

1915 Nobel Prize for Physics

Sir William Lawrence Bragg CH OBE MC FRS and Sir William Henry Bragg OM KBE FRS 'for their services in the analysis of crystal structure by means of X-rays'.