France and Europe EMCR Mobility Grants


The call for nominations is currently closed

The call for applications for 2023 is now closed.


The mobility grants are for Australian researchers to travel to France or Europe and work with leading researchers at major science and technology organisations for a period of between 14 and 28 days. The grants are supported by the Bede Morris and Rod Rickards memorial funds respectively.

The Bede Morris Memorial Fund was established in honour of Professor Bede Morris FAA (1927–1988), one of Australia’s most distinguished medical scientists. The fund has been supporting Australian researchers to travel and conduct research in France since 1990. The mobility grants are available for Australian EMCRs to conduct research in collaboration with a French research organisation in any field of the natural sciences. It is expected that 4–5 Australian researchers will be supported through this fund. 

The Rod Rickards Fellowships were established in honour of Professor Rod Rickards FAA (1934–2007), one of the most important contributors to Australian science through his outstanding achievements in the chemistry of compounds of medical, biological, agricultural and veterinary importance. The mobility grants are available to support research projects conducted in collaboration with a European-based research organisation in the areas of chemistry or biology. It is expected that 8-10 Australian researchers will be supported through this fund.

The mobility grants are not intended to supplement or extend either study or sabbatical leave that is being conducted overseas. Support will not be given when the primary purpose of the visit is to attend a conference. Where applicants already receive funding for their proposed project, they will only be eligible for a mobility grant if they can demonstrate that the activity for which the mobility grant is sought is additional to the project’s core activities.


At the time of submitting the grant application, the applicant must:

  • be an Australian citizen or Australian permanent resident, and be living in Australia.
  • be employed as a scientist/faculty member of an eligible research organisations (ERO) as defined below
  • have a PhD awarded no more than 15 years prior to the grant application deadline. An extension to this limit may be approved in the case of significant career interruptions.
  • have shown the potential to become a leader in the research community (demonstrated outstanding skills and potential for senior positions in science and technology).

The mobility grants are available to Australian researchers from any of the following eligible research organisations:

  • Australian tertiary education institutions (as per the Higher Education Support Act 2003)
  • Australian cooperative research centres
  • Publicly funded research agencies
  • Australian state- and territory-funded research organisations
  • Australian public research companies
  • Australian private research companies
  • Australian not-for-profit research organisations
  • Other Australian incorporated entities.

Previous recipients of a France and Europe Mobility Grant, Bede Morris grant or Rod Rickards Fellowship are ineligible to apply for this program.

Assessment criteria

Applicants should propose a collaborative research activity that has been developed in consultation with the host organisation in France or in Europe. A letter of invitation from the host institution(s) commenting on the proposed collaboration must be submitted with the application.

Proposals will be assessed on the:

  • scientific merit of the research (including the value of the collaboration)
  • demonstrated achievements of the applicant in the context of their career to date
  • leading edge research capacity of the proposed host researcher and institution
  • value of the expected outcome of the research project to Australian science.

Applications are considered carefully against the selection criteria by a committee of scientists with diverse expertise. Applications will be ranked based on the merit of the proposal and funding will be allocated according to each fund’s specifications. The decisions of the assessment committee are based on the assessed competitiveness of the proposal. The Academy is not able to enter into discussion or correspondence regarding the reasons why an application is successful or not.

Applicants can only be awarded a single mobility grant, as decided by the Academy. Please note that for successful applicants, the Academy will decide which memorial fund will provide the mobility grant.

Terms of award

Grants will be awarded to the successful EMCRs to conduct research activities in France (any field of natural sciences) or in Europe (chemistry and biology) with a major science and technology institution to continue to strengthen research networks and linkages.

Europe includes member countries of the European Union as noted here, plus the UK.

The Australian institutions will be responsible for supporting their EMCR’s visit to France or Europe and liaising with the Academy in relation to administering the grants.

Successful applicants may receive a grant from the Academy of up to the value of A$7000 (GST exclusive) towards the cost of:

  • an international return economy class airfare from Australia to the international airport closest to the host institute and domestic travel (up to a maximum of $3000)
  • a living allowance (for accommodation and living expenses) of $200 per day, up to a maximum of $4000.

Travel to France or Europe must commence after 1 August 2023 and be completed by 31 July 2024. Travel must be for a minimum of 14 days and a maximum of 28 days.

The EMCR will be responsible for making their own travel and accommodation arrangements, in consultation with the host institution. Dependants may accompany the successful applicant at their own cost. 

The grant does not provide funds for bench fees, managerial, visa or insurance costs.

Reporting requirements

Successful applicants will be required to submit a report within three months after their return to Australia. It is a requirement that any publication resulting from the project funded by this program mentions the support granted to the project by the Australian Academy of Science.

Click here for information on recipients of the 2019-2020 France and Europe EMCR Mobility Grants.


For further information, contact:

International Programs
Australian Academy of Science
GPO Box 783
Canberra ACT 2601

Phone: 02 6201 9412

© 2024 Australian Academy of Science