National Committee for Space and Radio Science

The National Committee for Space and Radio Science (NCSRS) aims to foster the space and radio sciences in Australia, to link the Academy to Australian space and radio scientists and relevant scientific societies, and to serve as a link between Australian and overseas space and radio scientists, primarily through the International Union for Radio Sciences, the Scientific Committee on Solar-Terrestrial Physics and the Committee on Space Research.

A vision for space science and technology: Securing and advancing Australia’s interests through space research in Australia was published in September 2017 and presents the strategic vision for an Australian space sector and space industry. The plan outlines strategies to lead Australia into a future that embraces a vibrant space sector and space industry, underpinned by space science and technology, and in due course supported by a national space agency. The National Committee for Space and Radio Science consulted extensively with broad a representation of researchers and organisations to create this plan.


Sign up for Space and Radio Science News and Opportunities

The National Committee of Space and Radio Science provides regular electronic updates from international scientific unions and committees, in addition to news from the local scientific community, relevant funding opportunities, conferences and awards.

Sign up for the newsletter

To make a submission to be included in the next update, please email

Apply to be part of the EMCR Reference Group for the Decadal Plan

The EMCR Reference Groups members have been created to provide EMCRs the opportunity to be consulted for the decadal plan for Space Science.

Apply here. Please include a CV no longer than two pages in your application. EMCR Reference Groups members must be members of the Academy’s EMCR Forum. Signing up to be a member is a quick process.

Apply here for membership of the EMCR Forum. 

DEADLINE: 31 July 2019 at 5 PM

Reports and activities

Related groups and organisations


Professor Fred Menk
Dr Kimberley Clayfield
Dr Tony Lindsay
Dr Murray Parkinson
Professor Chris Rizos
Professor Scott Tyo
Dr Ken Silburn
Professor Ross McPhedran
Dr Nick Stacy
Dr Gordon Cable AM
Dr Eriita Jones
Dr Katerina Miljkovic
Dr Philip James Wilkinson
Professor Iver Cairns
Professor Russell Boyce

© 2019 Australian Academy of Science