HOPE meeting with Nobel Laureates


The call for nominations is currently closed


Collaboration between the Australian Academy of Science and the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science has involved thousands of researchers and many Nobel Laureates over multiple decades. This video shows how this relationship continues to bear fruit.


The call for applications to participate in the 13th HOPE Meeting with Nobel Laureates is now closed.


The Australian Academy of Science invites applications from Australian PhD students and postdoctoral researchers to attend the 13th HOPE Meeting with Nobel Laureates, in the areas of physics, chemistry, physiology/medicine and related fields, to be held virtually from 7 to 11 March 2022.

Since 2008, the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS) has held a HOPE Meeting in Japan with Nobel Laureates and around 100 outstanding graduate students and young researchers, specially selected from countries around the Asia–Pacific region. The participants engage in interdisciplinary discussions with Nobel Laureates and other distinguished scientists pioneering the frontiers of knowledge. The title ‘HOPE Meeting’ signifies promise held for the future roles of young researchers and optimism for creating a bright future in science and technology within the global community.

In 2022 the 13th HOPE Meeting for Nobel Laureates will be held online via a web conferencing system. Successful participants are expected to attend all meeting events, which will total 26 hours over the five days.

13th HOPE Meeting with Nobel Laureates outline.

Read more about the Japan HOPE Meeting and the strong relationship Japan and Australia have in science and technology


Ideal applicants will demonstrate a strong commitment to their principal field of study and to interdisciplinary work, for example by double degrees or interdisciplinary projects.

The application must be submitted by the Research Office (or equivalent) of the applicant’s institution; individual applications will not be accepted. Each institution is limited to applying on behalf of one PhD student and one postdoctoral researcher, in the fields of physics, chemistry, physiology/medicine or related fields.

Eligible institutions include Australian universities, Australian publicly funded research organisations, and research-focused institutions.

Applicants must:

  • be a PhD student or postdoctoral researcher (having received a PhD after 2 April 2016) with excellent academic performance
  • be an Australian citizen, or permanent resident, and living in Australia at the time of application
  • be able to participate in the entire meeting program, as detailed in the 13th HOPE Meeting outline
  • have not been selected to participate in past HOPE Meetings
  • be able to provide a high-quality poster presentation related to their subject field in English.

Terms of award

Successful candidates must be able to attend all meeting events and have a sufficient internet environment to be able to engage with web conference platforms.

Reporting requirements

Successful applicants are required to submit a report outlining their experience, the benefits of their attendance at the meeting events and any future collaborative activities that may result from their participation in the 13th HOPE Meeting. Reports are due to the Academy within two months of the completion of the meeting.

Important notice

Applications will be considered by an Australian Academy of Science selection panel and a maximum of three short-listed applications will be recommended to the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS). The final decision regarding attendance at the 13th HOPE Meeting will be made by JSPS.

Decisions are based on the assessed competitiveness of the application. The Academy is not able to enter into discussion or correspondence regarding the reasons why an application is successful or not.

More information

Email: grants@science.org.au
Phone: +61(0)2 6201 9412

International Programs
Australian Academy of Science

This project is supported by the Australian Government Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources.

13th HOPE Meeting Australian participants

  • Dr Sharman Tan Tanny, University of Melbourne 
  • Dr Harini Hapuarachchi, RMIT University 
  • Dr Joe Kaczmarski, Australian National University 

Past meetings

© 2024 Australian Academy of Science