Ruby Payne-Scott Medal and Lecture for women in science


The call for nominations is currently closed

The 2024 awards are closed for nomination.

The 2025 nomination round will open in early 2024.

Award background and eligibility

The Ruby Payne-Scott Medal and Lecture is a career medal that recognises researchers of the highest standing in the physical and/or biological sciences. Along with the Macfarlane Burnet and Matthew Flinders Medals, it is one of the most prestigious career awards of the Academy and honours Ruby Payne-Scott’s pioneering contribution to radiophysics and radio astronomy. The Lecture is given at an Annual General Meeting of the Academy and complements that of the other prestigious awards.

The award is made annually and is restricted to women researchers who are normally resident in Australia and for research conducted mainly in Australia.

Candidates and nominators may be non Fellows.

Referee reports are not required as part of the nomination process for this award.

As a Premier Award, this award is one of the Academy’s most prestigious awards recognising researchers of the highest standing over a career of whatever length.

To be eligible for nomination an appropriate period of time should elapse following the receipt of any other Academy award.

If you need more information, please contact the Awards Team at or phone +61 (0)2 6201 9407.


Please submit your nominations using the Nominate button found on the left of this webpage)


© 2023 Australian Academy of Science