A philanthropy update from the Academy

July 29, 2019

Supporters’ breakfast

During Science at the Shine Dome 2019, award donors and their family members had the special opportunity to meet the 2019 recipients of the awards they support at a breakfast event.

The topic of conversation for guests Tui Nolan, Dr Beth Heyde and Professor Geordie Williamson FAA FRS was everything mathematics. Dr Heyde’s late husband, mathematician Professor Christopher Heyde AM FAA, is remembered through the Christopher Heyde Medal. This medal recognises distinguished research in the mathematical sciences and was awarded to Professor Williamson this year.

L–R: Tui Nolan, Dr Beth Heyde and Professor Geordie Williamson FAA FRS.

Mr Nolan was also a 2019 award-winner, as one of the three inaugural recipients of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Scientist Travelling Research Awards, along with Amy Searle and Bradley Moggridge.

The award was established by an anonymous donor wanting to provide opportunities for young Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander scientists to travel and network with other early- to mid-career researchers and Academy Fellows.

From left: Recipients of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Scientist Travelling Research Award, Amy Searle, Tui Nolan and Bradley Moggridge, with Professor Peter Radoll, Dean of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Leadership and Strategy, University of Canberra.

Recipients of the third round of the Max Day Environmental Science Fellowship Award, Dr Tim Doherty and Nicole Foster, were also in attendance. The award was established in 2017 with a donation from Dr Maxwell Frank Cooper Day AO FAA, and Dr Day himself presented the inaugural winners at age 101. The family, represented by Jon Day, and other donors continue this proud legacy today and follow the research of the awardees with keen interest.

L–R: Dr Tim Doherty, Nicole Foster and Jon Day.

Hastings Pawsey, the son of Dr JL Pawsey FAA for whom the Pawsey Medal is named, also attended the breakfast. The medal recognises outstanding research in physics and was awarded to Professor Steven Flammia this year.

L–R: Professor Nanda Dasgupta FAA, former Pawsey Medal winner, with Hastings Pawsey and his wife Elizabeth Pawsey.

The Academy was delighted to welcome Dr Sarah Gani, the daughter of Ruth Stephens Gani. Dr Gani had the opportunity to meet Dr Justin Wong, the 2019 recipient of the medal that honours her mother’s contributions to human cytogenetics.

Other guests included Mrs Pamela McDougall and Mrs Denise Hales, representing the donor and namesake of the Anton Hales Medal respectively. This medal was established with a donation from the late Professor Ian McDougall and honours the contributions to earth sciences by the late Professor Anton L Hales FAA.

The Academy thanks the many donors, partners and family members who fund and support our awards.


The Academy has been notified of a generous legacy gift from Dr Margaret Middleton who passed away earlier this year at the age of 90. Dr Middleton’s bequest will ensure that the award, named in her honour, will continue to provide valuable research funding for endangered Australian native vertebrate animals well into the future. 

“Margaret was a dedicated supporter of science at the Academy and a shrewd investor in its outcomes. We shall miss her wise counsel and remember her great generosity with gratitude”. Professor Andrew Holmes, immediate past President of the Australian Academy of Science.

More about Dr Margaret Middleton

Donor honour roll

The Academy would like to thank those donors who have supported our Annual Giving Program in 2019. Your commitment and support really do make a world of difference.

More about philanthropic giving

© 2022 Australian Academy of Science