User login

National Committees for Science

The Academy has 22 National Committees for Science that are widely representative of its disciplines. The broad aims of the committees are to foster a designated branch or theme of natural science in Australia and to serve as links between Australian and overseas scientists in the same field. National Committees advise the Academy’s Council on Australia’s representation for the unions and multidisciplinary bodies of the International Council for Science (ICSU) and other international bodies.

The National Committees for Science were reviewed in 2012-13 in consultation with the broader scientific community and implementation of the review’s recommendations is underway. Restructuring of the committees has been completed, and the restructured committees are named below.